A Little Local Event

After Hockley parkrun the other week my little group of running buddies, hubby and I decided to mix it up a bit.  The RAT runner in me liked the location, trails and not too far away from home.  A short distance event that means a quick shake up of the legs mid week in a new location.

Welcome to Skylarks, a 3k event in Wickford organised by a club I know really well so I know it was in good hands.

Stormy clouds over the park
Finish line ready to greet us

This event is a twice yearly event and uses Wick park for its location.  The terrain was a mix of gravel paths, grass and trails and there were runners and walkers of all ages ready to take part on a look Wednesday evening.

There was a lady there with her daughter, the daughter was running with her dad.  I was asked about “this girl can” as I was wearing my ambassador t-shirt, I explained the concept and encouraged mum to go out with her daughter next time, i indicated that exercise was for everyone, nobody should feel that they are no good enough, fast enough or whatever the concern was.  Exercise is personal and everyone is different.  I wanted to make sure I was back in to cheer the daughter on, it was a big deal for this young lady to take part and I wanted to be there to congratulate her at the end.

With my £2 entry fee paid I was ready to run, I felt good, it had been a cracking week at work and although tired with end of term preparations I was ready to get some fresh air into my lungs and get the legs moving.

I was near the back of the pack ready for the off. Go was shouted and I felt myself surging forward, I was overtaking people.  I became worried I had started off too quick but I pushed on, I wanted to see how long I could maintain the pace over the trails.

One of my running pals was up ahead so I pushed on again overtaking again and I came up beside her.  Breathing heavily I was concerned my breathing would put her off, we smiled at each other and a took my foot slightly off the pedal allowing her to surge forward.

At one point on the course the front runners are coming back on themselves so you get to see them.  I saw one of my faster mates, he looked and gave me the thumbs up.  I looked at my watch at this point and was surprised at my pace.  Sweat was dripping from me despite the cool evening.

All too soon I rounded a corner and could see the finish up ahead, I spotted hubby and some of my mates so I needed to finish strong.  I crossed that finish line excited and breathless I felt great. I ran up to my mate I had briefly caught up with earlier and congratulated her

I looked at my watch and could see that I had recorded my fastest mile yet, I was chuffed.

Soon the young lady and her dad approached the finish, I was please to be there to cheer them in, and also able to shout encouragement to others coming through.

A nice cup of tea and biscuit, prizes were given out for the first man, lady, boy and girl and it was time to go.

Details about Wick Park can be found here there is also a link on this page to Skylarks.

Leave a Reply

