Steps on a Journey.

This is going to make me feel uncomfortable I dislike photos of myself but I also feel as if I am in a place where I can share the journey I am on and will remain on.

fullsizeoutput_13b5

The first photo (below) is of me on holiday in Disney, a few years ago.  I have cropped out the others in the picture but I was a huge lump compared to the rest of my family.  I was at the peak of my weight gain, I was unhealthy, I was unfit.  I could not walk far nor did I want to.  I was on medication for depression and my lifestyle choices had a lot to be desired.  I returned from this holiday and sat myself down gave myself a talking to and started to make some changes.  I came off the medication as soon as I had the all clear from the doctors.  A little while after my body was used to having no medication and things were in balance mentally, I decided that I needed to review how I was living my life with the eating the lack of exercise and the simple fact that I could not be bothered to do anything.

I started learn to run the new year after this picture was taken, it took me a few months to figure out what I should be doing after this holiday by the Christmas I had decided to join a learn to run course at a local club.

The second picture (below) was taken in May this year when I was helping at the Westminster Mile.  In the interim I have lost some weight, embraced running where I have completed a marathon, a few half marathons, a number of 10ks and lots of 5ks.  Although I had a job that I excelled in, was comfortable but was no longer a challenge so got myself another job that I even now I enjoy and I feel I am making a difference with those I interact with on a daily basis.  I have come off my medication and remained off and although I have wobbles I find better ways of coping.  I go to the gym and lift weights.  I swim and generally have become more active on a day to day basis.  I have been able to get to the second picture through hard work, stubbornness (sometimes) and with the fabulous support from my husband and those in my very close circle of friends.  I have hiccuped on the way, I have had good runs, rotten runs great days and days where I need to just be careful with myself.  I have eaten things that are not healthy but I enjoyed them and I have made up by exercising or eating well for the rest of the week.  I see these photos as documents of my journey and that second photo is not the end result as I still heave weight to lose and more fitness to gain but a step on the path that I am walking.  I am proud of who I am and where I am right now and I look forward to what the future me is like.

If you are pondering your own health choices and wanting to make the change please do, small steps is all it takes to start with, you don’t have to go dramatic to start with get out go for a walk, join a gym class, try a new fruit instead of that chocolate bar, maybe have 1 less glass of wine or have meat free Mondays.  If I can then you can.  This Girl Can!Beforefullsizeoutput_13bc

Leave a Reply

