Evaluation and restarting after my holiday.

Whilst I was sitting by the pool one hot and humid Floridian I had time to think about the direction I was heading in and how I wanted to document it (if I wanted to document it).  I wanted to put my running journey out there in the public domain whilst keeping some of the other things that I enjoyed writing about such as books, beauty and anything else that popped up at that time.  However, I did not want writing about life to take over my life and be seated next to a computer more than getting out there.

I was tying myself into blogging twice weekly with book reviews and lifestyle, and then when I started to document running it because a 3 times a week post. With working full time, running a home and trying to get fitter and stronger both physically and mentally I had to consider dropping the amount of times I blog, I hope this is ok.

I am keeping the sections so if you are interested in particular things such as my running journey then posts will appear under “the fit files’; if you are interested in beauty reviews then ‘beauty’ is where to head and my book reviews will appear (yes you guessed it) under ‘book reviews’.

I don’t make money from blogging nor do I want to but I just feel that I would like to document without over sharing.

So here we go, I wanted to share some pictures from the holiday.

We arrived in Florida to torrential rain and storms, as we touched down in Orlando lightening flashed around us.  Oh great I thought what have I come out to?

After collecting the hire car we drove across town to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal, our base for 4 days.  I am a careful driver but I was also worried, the car was a huge 7 seater and heavy and its a huge shock to get into a massive car after bombing around town in a mini.  We made it to the hotel in 1 piece and quickly set our cases down to join the family in the park.

By this time the rain had cleared somewhat but the sky was grey.  Never mind, we know that when we are in Florida we have a great time no matter what.

IMG_2952
Brightening up on our arrival.

We had a meal in the Irish restaurant before heading towards the new Harry Potter rides.

I wasn’t sure what to expect as I had heard mixed views but I was really taken by the new sections.  It was like being back in London except by now the pavements were steaming from the rain and the humidity and it was cleaner.

IMG_2874
London?
IMG_2893
A cleaner version
IMG_2921
The West End?
IMG_2922
We don’t really see red phone boxes anymore!

The ride from ‘Kings Cross’ to ‘Hogwarts’ was a steam train and I have to say it was one of the best things I have seen for some time.  Very clever with excellent graphics and surprises along the way.  Perfect for all ages.

IMG_2881
We found our way onto the platform.

We rode the steam train back to ‘Kings Cross’ and walked around Diagon Alley.  The Alley and Gringotts was guarded by a fierce fire breathing dragon (is there any other kind) that let out a huge plume of fire to warn wizards and muggles alike that the bank was guarded.

IMG_2938
Keeping watch
IMG_2929
You have been warned!

There was an excellent ride within Gringotts and we proceeded to go on this ride many times throughout our stay, again very cleverly put together and really enjoyable.  My new favourite ride.

After a few days at Hard Rock we moved into our villa, once settled we made plans to visit Disney Magic Kingdom.  The weather had sorted itself out and it was hot and sunny every day.

Now a secret, years ago I was never a fan of Disney, I could not see the point.  That is until I visited Magic Kingdom for the millennium. Walking down Main Street USA that first time really showed me why Disney is as popular now as it always has been and I was hooked.

As you walk down Main Street (or march if you are with Mr JAEG and his brother) you face the wonder that is Cinderella’s castle, we always stop to take a photo although it has never changed in all the times we have visited but its tradition now

IMG_2985

As we had got there for park opening we did all the usual rides including Splash Mountain, (another family tradition).  Walked absolutely miles and had some lovely food.  My favourite place to eat is now Beasts Castle and the Be Our Guest restaurant.  Their sandwiches and cakes were amazing, another secret, Beauty and the Beast is my favourite Disney film.

IMG_2990

We knew it would be a long hard day getting in so early but we all wanted to see the afternoon parade and light show and fireworks later that night.

IMG_3037
A tale as old as time

The daytime parade changes and I have not seen the same one twice, each year is a different celebration.  It was good to see Beauty and the Beast as well as the usual characters in the mix.

The fireworks has changed slightly, last year Disney started to incorporate a light show, Cinderella’s castle is lit up in a very clever way depicting scenes from the films or pictures to go with the music or words.  As always the fireworks were amazing, they never cease to please.

IMG_3024
The firework and light show

After being in the park at 8am we left after 11pm, my feet were aching but the day had been worth it.  The drive back to the villa fortunately swift and we settled down to relax and discuss the day.

The rest of the holiday consisted in relaxing by our pool, shopping and eating at Downtown Disney and I am please to say I also kept up my running.  I ran twice whilst I stayed at Hard Rock and 4 times whilst at the villa.  I also walked and cycled whilst at the villa and I felt good despite the heat.  I needed to exercise after all I had eaten and drunk!

IMG_2973
A baileys milkshake, need to run this off!!
IMG_3044
A beautiful view when running

Running whilst on holiday is a new thing for me and I think I surprised everyone including myself that I actually got out there, after all on previous occasions I had good intentions but never followed them through.  Maybe this is a sign of the times and shows I am willing to sort myself out.

I loved Florida and I know I have a great time when I go.  It was good to catch up with the family and good to relax and take stock of things before going back to work.

I hope you all managed to have some time for yourselves and enjoyed the summer.

1 thought on “Evaluation and restarting after my holiday.”

Leave a Reply

