Review – 11/22/63 by Stephen King

11/22/6311/22/63 by Stephen King

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I will not write any spoilers as I feel that would ruin it for those who my like this recommendation
I had put off reading this book as I had not read any Stephen King before and I was really sure what to expect. I was going to read it on holiday but I am glad I didn’t wait. This had me gripped from start to finish with many twists and turns. I thought it would be totally based on the Kennedy assassination but I loved the build up and the historic facts from 1950’s and 1960’s America to paint that full picture. I also liked the love story that popped up unexpected part way through but it was the ending that did it for me. Again no spoilers but the ending showed what could happen if you were able to go back in time and change the course of history, would you change history if you could?

Jake discovers via a friend that he is able to travel back to late 1950’s America. His friend wants to stop the assassination but can’t, its up to Jake instead. Jake travels across America and we get a valuable insight to a bygone age the details are so vivid you can almost see them in your minds eye. Jake settles into his new life and his world changes, not for the last time. Jake thinks that stoping Kennedy being assassinated would be a good thing, maybe it is but there is always a flip side. For every action there is an opposite action.

I was left with a lump in my throat after reading the final pages. I hear they are making this into a film, I hope they do but I hope they keep it to the book, I would like to see if my imagination matches the film version.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

