Review: Framed by Frank Cottrell Boyce

FramedFramed by Frank Cottrell Boyce

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I read this book a few years ago and as the students were reading it I wanted to refresh myself. What a beautiful and uplifting book, funny in places and thoughtful in others. I loved how the characters evolved and how you see events through a childs eye, Dylan.
The story takes place in a town called Manod, a grey and rainy place in Wales but despite the weather Dylan thinks its the best place in the world. Dylan provides the narrative through diary events, all logs start with a snap shot of the day in a short sentence at the start of each entry.
I love this book for the innocence, for the twists and how one event created a series of beautiful things to happen to the residents of this grey and watery town. I wanted to cry happy tears at the end.
It does not matter if you have children/grandchildren, work with children or do not have children in your life, this is a lovely book to read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

