Roller Lash – my thoughts

There was a lot of hype earlier this year over Benefits new mascara – Roller Lash. I am a huge fan of Benefit mascaras one of my favourites is their They’re Real, I love the formula and brush and how it looks on my lashes.

The mascara was not out until March but was a gift with ELLE magazine.  I normally purchase my magazines on line but this time I went out to buy the hard copy just for the gift.

I didn’t want to believe the hype, I have been caught out before buying a mascara because of the PR hype only to be left with something that does not suit me, or rubbish in formula/brush/coverage/colour/finish.

What I like about it:

  • The brush is curved, making it really easy to capture all the lashes, even the tiny ones.
  • The brush is plastic, with decent sized bristles, not too long so you poke your eye out as you apply and not too short that you have to go over and over your lashes.
  • Doesn’t clump.
  • Easy to remove without scrubbing away at your eyes.

What I didn’t like about it:

  • The formula isn’t as glossy and black as I would like.
  • It can creep and smudge when in hot situations.
  • Not long lasting, the curl dropped after a few hours.
The packaging on the full size is cute, right?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After using the sample for a good 6 weeks I was fairly impressed, I went out and got the full size.  I use this for work and times when I don’t want full on lashes and I revert to They’re Real or my MAC mascara for going out.

I guess the quest for the perfect mascara continues.

 

2 thoughts on “Roller Lash – my thoughts”

  1. I received a Roller Lash sample in my Allure Sample Society subscription beauty box, and although I have come to perceive Benefit as a reliable beauty brand and have many quality Benefit products in my vanity, I was not as impressed with this product as I’d hoped to be. The price point is high for a mascara: a product that has a recommended shelf life of three months after opening, so at that cost it had better be one I would want to use on a daily basis! I find that when used alone, it lifts my lashes but does not really curl them, and makes them fan out in wild directions. On the other hand, used on top of another mascara, they do greatly enhance my lashes without causing the haphazard look it does when used alone. You have a nicely written review here, and I completely agree – it’s a good product but certainly not perfection. – Heather at getglamorousbeauty.com

Leave a Reply

