Foxglove Summer – Book review

Foxglove Summer (Peter Grant, #5)Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ben Aaronovitch allows Peter Grant to venture outside of London and the Folly in this recent release. Does this put a different spin on the characters and plots? In a way yes but I liked these different ideas the new locations and new people produce.
Nightingale has a smaller role in this book compared to the earlier stories but I think this allows for Peter to discover his own path as a result. In my opinion there is less magic performed but this does not mean there is less magic around and we also discover a new strand of the supernatural in this book.
I did enjoy the relationship Peter is building with Beverly and I will be interested to see where this goes in the next book, this could make or break the next instalment in the series.
This is an easy book to read but only if you have read the first four books otherwise you will not have a clue on what has gone on before and there is a follow on from what happened at the end of Broken Homes.
This story felt relevant and had snippets of todays culture in there which I always like, references to people, places, tech help show that this book is a recent publication.
I will look forward to the next book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

