Smashbox On The Rocks – my thoughts

I received this eyeshadow set for Christmas.  I saw it in Boots and said that I would like it for Christmas, Mr JAEG jumped on that (as he didn’t know what other make up I own) and purchased it.  It is a limited edition for Christmas 2014, there was a bigger version with 28 shades but I thought I wouldn’t get the most out of that pallet.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d31/30892442/files/2014/12/img_1955-1.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

This set has 12 different shades, some neutral and some with deep colour.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d31/30892442/files/2014/12/img_1954-1.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I would say the shades Nutmeg (top right), Opus, Vanilla in the next row and Confectionette and Mist the row after that are good to use for a natural daytime look.  The remaining shades can be incorporated for a stronger daytime look or for night.  Blacktop, Coronation, Chianti and Bourbon has some shimmer but not too glittery when on the eye.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d31/30892442/files/2014/12/img_1953-1.jpg

 

 

 

This set comes with a decent sized mirror but no brush, I am not bothered about the applicator as I normally bin them if they are the foam style.  Each shadow is 1.25g and have great staying power, although I use a primer.

I like Smashbox as a brand and their shadows always work well with me, it was also nice to have a change from the neutrals.  This is also a handy size for travel.  This set (at time of posting) is still available for purchase here.

 

 

 

1 thought on “Smashbox On The Rocks – my thoughts”

Leave a Reply

