Hourglass – review

Its not that I am late to the party with the Hourglass face powders and blushers but I wanted to use a face powder and blusher over a period of time before giving my thoughts.

All so often I read items that just on the latest thing without giving that product a full trial, which means I either rush out and buy that item and later regret it as it is not as good as it seems or ignore that item and then forget about purchasing it meaning I could miss out.

I wanted to try Hourglass for myself and give a review after using the product over 6 months, a fair enough amount of time.

First I want to speak about the ambient light powder.  At the time of posting there 6 different shades.  The lady at the counter was amazing and really helpful, taking time to show me the different powders and how they diffuse the light.  I do like a decent but non-pushy make up consultant, that always helps!

The 6 shades are as follows:

• ETHEREAL LIGHT: An opalescent sheer, cool white powder that mimics a moonlit glow—even in broad daylight.
• DIFFUSED LIGHT: A soft, warm, pale yellow powder that conceals redness and gives skin clarity—like a soft ray of morning light.
• DIM LIGHT: A neutral peach beige powder that blurs imperfections and highlights a radiant complexion with the perfect balance of warm and cool tones.
• MOOD LIGHT: A soft, sheer lavender pink powder that mimics the softest, most forgiving light and brightens the complexion.
• LUMINOUS LIGHT: A champagne pearl powder that creates a soft, incandescent candlelit glow—day or night.
• RADIANT LIGHT: A sun-kissed golden beige that enhances overall complexion with believable, subtle warmth, and also extends a summer glow.

After reviewing the 6 shades the consultant and I decided that Dim Light was the best for my complexion.

Moving onto their blushes, again the ambient light blushes come in 6 different shades.

Ethereal Glow is a cool pink shade and is the lightest of the 6.

Diffused Head is a red toned blush.

Dim Infusion is a peachy coral shade.

Luminous Flush is a cream rose shade.

Radiant Magenta has fuchsia shot through with gold undertones.

Mood Exposure is the darkest shade and is plum based.

After trying out the shades we thought the lightest was the best one to go for so I went with Ethereal Glow.  These blushes can be applied with a light touch and are build-able.  In the pan I was not totally blown away but once on the skin I loved how they looked.

I got both products home and set to try them.

The light powder was easy to apply, I powdered my face after applying my foundation, this powder gave a matt sheen, I did not look like an oil slick but I looked fresh, I was not sure if it hid imperfections but the first time I had it on for work I was told I looked like I had a good sleep.  I use a Real Techniques buffing brush to apply this powder which means I have total control over where I place it and how much I use.  After 6 months of use I still enjoy using it and I have not made a dent in the pan yet so very long lasting.

I wasn’t sure about the blush, it did not look much in the pan.  I swirl the brush over the powder and apply to the apples of my cheeks, it give me a fresh from a walk outside look.  I liked how it felt on the skin and it gave a natural look.

The packaging for both products are great both come with no brush which enables you to use your own brush of choice, Hourglass have their own brush range too.  There is a mirror in the lid which means you can apply on the go.  The casing is a sturdy plastic that has withstood being thrown around in my bag and actually looks classy due to the gold shade which makes a difference to boring black.

Their products are expensive, not something to rush out and purchase without due consideration but so far I find them long lasting, look good on and easy to work with.  Their consultants are very helpful (well the one in House of Fraser was) which is always useful and there are lots of information on line should you need to check out what others are thinking.

Hourglass can be seen and purchased here.

1 thought on “Hourglass – review”

Leave a Reply

