Too Much Information – My review

Too Much Information... or Can Everyone Just Shut Up for a Moment, Some of Us Are Trying to ThinkToo Much Information… or Can Everyone Just Shut Up for a Moment, Some of Us Are Trying to Think by Dave Gorman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Really enjoyed this book. A quick read and mirrors a lot of my own thoughts about the information we receive in print and electronically on a day to day basis. I especially enjoyed his view on the Daily Express headlines, as I often felt the same but Dave Gorman explained it in such a brilliant way, along with back up! The crazy way we all share information, how mad spamming actually is and how social media now impacts lives.

This book shows up the craziness we are currently living in with the technological age we are finding ourselves in. Yes some aspects of life with technology are great but there is also a flip side, are we sharing too much information? Are we taking on too much information? In this current age are we at at point where we cannot actually concentrate and focus on one thing as that may be deemed ‘boring’ or ‘slow’ or we are seen unable to ‘multi task’. I started to think how this will impact on the next generation, as en educator I often see that children expect to be entertained, that they often cannot focus for long wanting to switch activities before giving the first activity a chance. Children are often in a place where they cannot make their own entertainment and then are ‘bored’. A huge worry as we move forward.

Ok so this review is deep but I think it is always healthy to reflect after a book and this showed up some flaws in my own life, as an avid lover of information and tech I could see the path I was heading down.

Worth a read.

View all my reviews

1 thought on “Too Much Information – My review”

Leave a Reply

