Bounce – Book review

Bounce: Beckham, Serena, Mozart and the Science of SuccessBounce: Beckham, Serena, Mozart and the Science of Success by Matthew Syed
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I put off reading this book for some time, I wasn’t interested in the sporting side really. I am glad I returned to this book as although the book is surrounded by sport and what happens in the sporting world I would say there are aspects that pertain to many of us. For example having a growth mindset, not making things too easy for young adults as they will expect things to fall into their lap. I found the chapters on genetics and drugs in sport very interesting, loved how this was explained and the empathy Matthew shows in these chapters. I also enjoyed the last sections on race and stereotypes how it isn’t as simple as people made out, e.g. is the case black runners are faster than white? What would make it this case and how has it changed, all great discussion points for the future.
Worth a read if you work with children, in sport or what to promote a growth mind set in your life.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

