Vintage bus ride

A little know fact about me, I love vintage buses.  I think it stems from my Grandfather, his dad and his dad before him driving buses and trolley buses.  I have a cherished picture of my great-grandfather taken in the early 1900’s driving a trolley bus and another with a horse drawn bus.

I jumped at an invite to go to Bluewater on a vintage bus with Mum, Dad and Mr JAEG.  Organised by Ensign bus there would be a range of routes and buses dating between the 1930’s to 1970’s..

The morning was crisp and frosty but sunny, the sort of winter weather I really enjoy.

We had to get up early to catch the first bus of the day, I felt full of cold but excited.  I packed up a flask of tea and my talking book ready for the trip.

IMG_1904

 

The first bus we jumped on was an RT3232, a beautiful green double decker.  This bus served London during the second world war.  The conductor welcomed us on and se set off through the country lanes stopping occasionally to collect passengers.  This bus coped with the modern road network including the Dartford Bridge really well and kept to time, if only I could say that about modern buses.  There were many bus spotters on the bus and along the route, I never realised there were so many fans.

After a pit stop for lunch in Bluewater and a final Christmas gift purchase we jumped on the next bus to Gravesend.

IMG_1905

This was a beautiful red RTW335 built in the 1950’s and was the first wider bus at 8 foot.  This style bus felt more familiar to my childhood and the rout masters we know of old.  Again this coped with the Saturday traffic with no issues and like with the first bus lots of people just stopped and stared, taking pictures or pointing the bus out to their children.  This was certainly an age gone by that children would have only seen in films or TV.

We alighted at Gravesend and we visited Pocahontas’s grave, by this time it was very cold.

IMG_1907

After a brisk walk it was time to catch the RTW335 back home.

I am not a total bus geek but I do enjoy looking at vintage transport, it serves as a reminder of times go by and a very small connection with my family.

 

Leave a Reply

