Spa Break

Mr JAEG and I decided to have a spa break to help relax and prepare me for the new school year.  We went to Rowhill Grange, a place we visited a few years ago and enjoyed and thought it was time to pay another visit.

Rowhill is a country house in Kent, not far from Dartford or Bluewater.  It has lovely grounds that you are able to walk around and comfy rooms, two restaurants and great spa facilities.  We decided to go for a two night stay, giving us the chance to settle down, use all the facilities and not to rush about.

I have a love hate kind of thing going on with spas, I like the treatments and the relaxation aspect but I always feel slightly uneasy wafting around in a bathrobe no matter how fluffy but thats just a mindset I need to work on.

We arrived at 4pm and our first treatment was booked for 5pm.  We settled into our room which was a very nice suite called Rose and prepared for the first treatment.  Mine was a neck shoulder and back massage, I have had huge problems with my shoulder recently (due to carrying heavy bags for work no doubt) and this was bliss, right away the masseur realised that my shoulder was all knotty and worked on that, after which I felt as light as a feather.  Mr JAEG had a ‘go guy’ facial that lasted 55 minutes and came out looking glowing and fresh.  He said it was so relaxing he almost fell asleep.

We had a lovely 3 course meal that evening in the RG restaurant made with all fresh local produce that ended the day on a lovely note, totally blissed out.

The next day was a full day at the hotel, started with a huge breakfast then time in the steam rooms, sauna, therapy pool and swimming pool.  I loved the therapy pool with their jets to work on any more knotted muscles.  This was very relaxing and I was able to catch up with some reading before my next treatment of reflexology.  It has been years since I had reflexology, I used to go with my sister in law and found it a great way to relax and to deal with minor ailments.  This session reconfirmed that I need to start reflexology again (I slept the best ever that night).  Mr JAEG had an all over body massage and once again said it was so lovely he wanted to sleep.  The day ended with yet another fabulous meal in the restaurant leaving us both relaxed.  The morning greater us with another amazing breakfast, with the best bananas on waffles I have ever tasted for me and eggs benedict for him.

We left after another session in the pools, steam room and saunas fully relaxed and ready for the next week.

We will be going back again for another break as a treat once we are both back at work and in need of some time out.

Rowhill Grange and its facilities can be found here they do a range of packages from spa break to spa days.

Leave a Reply

