Battle of the Beauty Boxes August 2014 Edition

These months pass so quick, it only seems like yesterday when I was posting about the 2 July boxes.

But here we go again time to pitch the 2 subscriptions side by side for the monthly face off, what box received the thumbs up from me this August?

First to be delivered as always was Birchbox, once again everything you see below can be purchased via their website here.

IMG_1738.JPG

In first place this month is from Wild About Beauty Creme Eyeshadow £13.  I put this first as I loved the ethos of the company “paraben, talc & petrochemical free. Against animal cruelty”.  The shade I received is called buster, (which is one of my cats nickname by the way).  This shade is a totally wearable for everyday.  It is a biscuit shimmery golden colour and applies very smoothly and is a build-able depending on what look you are trying to achieve.

Second up is Nude Progenius Omega Treatment Oil £58.  I tested it on the back of my hand and the oil was smooth silky and absorbed right away.  The blurb says to massage 1-2 drops into face and neck of evening.  Although the sample size id 5ml I know it will last for a while as I agree that only 1 or 2 drops is needed for the face.

Supergoop Daily Correct SPF35 CC cream £32 is in third place.  I have not really been one to jump on the whole CC band wagon and have largely body swerved them sticking to BB creams when I needed the light touch.  This product is ok just ok, the sample is 2 tubes of 3ml each.  The actual formula is nice and there is a light coverage but there is no difference between this and the BB creams I have used and repurchased previously.  I am not blown away by this (can you tell) and this is something I may consider purchasing but only if my normal brand was out of stock and I was desperate.  I feel that this product is so so and would add no benefit to my beauty regime.

Next is Vasanti Brightening Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator £26.  The formula contains fine micro crystals and if you suffer from clogged skin that needs a constant exfoliation then this is for you.  Again this is a so so product and feels no different to the various other facial scrubs I have used in the past and so once again this will not be a repurchase for me.

In last place is Number 4 Super Comb Prep & Protect £20.  This is a leave in conditioning spray that is meant to detangle and protect against heat and styling.  Well not in my hair!  I used this after a gym session and I felt that it did not detangle my hair well enough for me to repurchase, there are other products out there that are cheaper that do a better job for me.

I wasn’t impressed with the lifestyle choice or the bag, but as they are both ‘freebies’  I won’t hold it against Birchbox.  I think book choices are a personal thing and I have a particular taste when it comes to my reading material so I will pass it onto a willing recipient.  The plastic transparent bag is nice but I have a lot of bags that are very similar and so this will also be given away along with some of the products.

Onto Glossybox, I would be lying if I said Glossybox has been wowing every month.    Is this the month that completely blows me away?  This box celebrates the 3 year birthday and there is an extra item to celebrate.

IMG_1748.JPG

First up is Philip Kingsley Elasticizer a full size of 250ml would cost £38 from here.  I have heard some good things about this and I like the fact that it is used before shampooing and conditioner , which means that I get to keep using the shampoos and conditioners I like.  My hair is undergoing changes at the moment, I have recently changed my colour and last month I had about 3 inches chopped from the length because I felt that I was losing a lot of hair through breakage and shredding.  In fact I am prepared to do some more drastic cutting to save my length and I have toyed with actually going pixie crop styles.

Anyway I digress, enough about my hair woes, maybe I will speak about that in a post.  Back to Glossybox.

In second place is Figs & Rouge Mini Hand Cream, full size of 80ml will cost £6.96 from here.  I loved their lip balm from an earlier Glossybox.  I like the fact it is a product made in the UK.  I like the fact that it has shea butter and it is not too greasy.  The packaging is cute and this particular sample size (20ml) is enough to throw into my weekend handbag for on the go application.

Third up is a Kryolan for Glossybox product.  A highlighter in the shade cashmere that is a full size product of 4.5g and would have cost £12.95 from here.  It feels lovely and creamy and provides a soft glow across cheekbones and brow bone, plus it is easy to apply.

Next is Pep Cosmeceuticals SkinPep Super C15 Serum.  Another full size sample and available here for £13.99 full size of 7ml.  It is paraben free and you only need a few drops under moisturiser.  It says it offers the ultimate in UV protection and collagen, I like the sound of that and I like how it feels on my skin plus is it has not caused any flare ups.

So far so good, Glossybox is doing it for me and the only thing that lets it down is the last item I am about to talk about.

Oh dear we see a fragrance sample.  I won’t labour the point or my thoughts on receiving a perfume sample in any of the box subscriptions.  I am not impressed and although the scent is nice I had already been given a sample when I was in House of Fraser FOR FREE!

The birthday bonus is from Yves Rocher and is a beautiful pink shade, available here for £3.60.  I love the shade and this varnish is perfect for the understated nail with the coverage being really quite good.

For me Glossybox has won this month, apart from the perfume sample I was hard pushed to put the items in order of preference, liking everything I pulled out of the box.  It was also nice to receive the bonus.

What box did you prefer this month?

 

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “Battle of the Beauty Boxes August 2014 Edition”

Leave a Reply

