Ultrabland – review

My last post introduced my current cleansers and gave a brief overview of what I use.  I thought now was the time to speak about some of the products separately in more detail.  If you have not seen the post yet please click here.

I wanted to talk about Ultrabland from Lush first.

20140803-122757-44877145.jpg

I purchased Ultrabland on a whim during a recent visit to Lush.  I had noticed that once a month my skin was not behaving the way I wanted it to and I was looking for a mask in Lush to help.  As I was looking around I noticed Ultrabland, the name struck me, first, I mean why describe something as bland?  Nethertheless I tested the balm on the back of my hand and I liked the consistency of the formula and how it seemed to soften my skin.

Ingredients include Almond Oil, Rose Water, Beeswax and Honey all very softening and natural ingredients.  The blurb on the pot also stated that this was the Lush founders No 1 Desert Island Product.  With the top tip saying use nothing but Ultrabland for one month to bring skin back into balance.

I decided to go with my own top tip and use it once a month for a week to help soothe my skin at that time of need and I have to say it really stepped up to the plate and on first go started to put things right.

It is very rich to the touch so I don’t use a huge amount, I use a scoop about the size of a 50p piece and massage it into my face for a minute or two, it is gentle enough to use around the eyes to remove stubborn mascara.  After massaging I then use a flannel or muslin cloth soaked in warm water and wrung out to sweep the cream off my face along with the makeup and other grime (yuk).  It does not cause any flare ups and is really soothing at times when your skin needs that extra TLC and assistance.

I follow this up with a second cleansing process with the Clarisonic.

I do enjoy using Lush products I Love their ethical stance on sourcing and testing and I like the fact you can take back empty pots and get a mask free.  Great recycling.

Ultrabland is £10.95 for 100g, a little does go a long way and you can purchase it here.

I would like to try Fresh Farmacy but I would love to hear if anyone out there has tried it and your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

