June 2014 Beauty Boxes

Just when I think I am ready to call it a day with one of my beauty boxes I receive boxes that throw the whole competition wide open and I am back to the drawing board.

By now you would have probably received your June boxes and therefore no spoilers.  I wanted to once again share my thoughts on both box subscriptions.  I decided that this time my post will review the items in order of my preference and thoughts, with the first up being the best for me and the last item the Debbie downer of the box.

The fist box delivered was Glossybox and so that is the first one up.

20140617-192639-69999447.jpg

I would be lying if I said Glossybox had been wowing me month after month but I have to say that the last few boxes have met my expectations and I have had to hold off from cancelling.

So first up and therefore the highlight is the Teeez Trend Cosmetics – Beautiful Flat Stiff Brush (shop here).  As you ay have read I have a complete thing for brushes and when I saw this I let out a happy sigh.  Designed to apply powder or cream shadow and is soft on the lid is one bonus.  The other bonus is that the handle is a thing of beauty, colourful and very pretty.  Why should make up brushes be boring?

In second place, got2b- Rise ‘n Shine soufflé (found here).  With first use I loved what this did to my hair, helped show off the layers in my hair without making the hair look greasy or weighed down.  The smell at first seemed chemically to me and not the “jasmine infused fragrance” stated on the info card.  I think once the chemical smell wears off there is not really much smell to talk about.  Smell aside this is second place as I love the texture and what it does.

So Susan Cosmetics – Concealer Quad (found here).  Always wanted to own a concealer quad and now one is in the box.  I love the different shades that enable the user to customise coverage depending on need and season.  This would have been in first place, there was one thing that niggled at that was the coverage was light to medium and needed to be built up to hide any major issues.  I am lazy and often in a rush for work and I need my concealer to cover fast and full.

nailgirls – 3 in 1 base, topcoat & nail strengthener (here).  Its nice having a base/top coat but I was not blown away by this.  I have used it but was meh over the product and it is in a drawer.

Last up Roger & Gallet – Fleur de Figuier discovery ritual (here).  This is last because its a foil packet, foil packets are a complete no for me.  After all how can you tell if you like a product with just one application.  I was surprised to see it was from Marks and Spencer and I liked the scent but there was just not enough of the shower cream, body lotion and fragrance for me to decide if it suited my skin and if I could live with the scent long term.

Birchbox arrived two days later, I had seen some blogs and so I had a good idea of what to expect.   Since subscribing to Birchbox I have not been disappointed with the items.  The theme this month (like with most other things at the time of posting) is the world cup, although the England football team disappointed the box didn’t.  Like with Glossybox I would like to post in rank order, best first meh last, if any item is of interest they can be purchased here.

20140621-160516-57916676.jpg

Up in first place we have the item representing America.  The Beautyblender and solid cleanser worth £26.  I have used a Beautyblender before and I love the lightness it brings to foundation.  I don’t use it with water based products as this little baby soaks up the liquid but with concealers and gel based foundations this is a beautiful tool to use.  Not used the solid cleanser before but because I have OCD when cleaning my brushes I know this will be fine.

Next up and in second place is the Shea Butter Hair Mask by Silk & Honey the full DIY set will cost £55.  I love anything that I can use on the hair to keep it from being parched and frizzy.  This felt enriching when I put it on my hair, making my hair feel soft afterwards.  It has a shea butter scent but it is fine and not overpowering.

In third place and the French representative is from Caudalie, Vinoperfect Day Perfecting Fluid with an SPF of 15 perfect for this time of year.  The cream has a slight tint to it which does not show once on the face but provides a glow that is not glittery or left making the face look sweaty.  I looked awake and was told I looked really well after using it the first time.  Although this would cost £38 for the full size this would be something I would seriously consider purchasing.

Next is a Nail varnish from OPI, from the Brazil Collection £11.95 so representing Brazil called Next Stop The Bikini Zone.  Never judge a book by its cover is what I am going to say about this product.  This would have been in last last as when I first pulled it from the box I was so meh over it.  I set it down thinking I would give it away.  I thought I had a colour like it already and I was just not fussed about it at all.  But……I thought I would swatch it and proceeded to change my mind.  This is a two-tone varnish that has a different shade a purple in one light and a silver in another.  This shade is wearable for everyday wear and I like it but I would have preferred to have received another colour such as I Just Cant Cop-Acabana a brilliant bright sunny yellow or Where Did Suzi’s Man-Go a soft orange/mango shade that would be more fitting for our summer.

So in last place is from Naobay, the Body Radiance Lotion £14 for full size.  In absolute honesty I don’t think any one product deserves last place as they are all great but this product although lovely just did not set my world alight compared to the other ties.  I love how this is organic and natural, the scent it fresh and summery with a hint of lemon reminding me of a walk through the herb and lemon groves when on holiday as a child.

The things I loved about Birchbox this month was the nod to the world cup with some excellent product choices.  I loved the drawer string bag in the Brazilian colours (so I am easily pleased then) and the flipflop keyring.

If I was to pick the box I liked best I would go with Birchbox again this month purely based on the world cup tie in and the choices made.  It really showed a lot of thought and no foil packets in sight!

Let me know your thoughts on your beauty box subscriptions, was the Birchbox a hit for you or if you are a Glossybox subscriber were you happy with what you received?

 

 

1 thought on “June 2014 Beauty Boxes”

Leave a Reply

