Battle of the Beauty Boxes May 2014

At the moment I am subscribed to 2 beauty box subscriptions, Glossybox and Birch Box.

Over the last few months I have been pretty disappointed with Glossybox and I have contemplated stopping that subscription.

So this leads me into the monthly review of Glossybox that nicely dovetails into a battle of the box post where I can do a side by side.

First up is Birchbox.

20140518-130643-47203170.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before I start on the actual products I have to say I love love love the drawstring bag that houses to products, its a fantastic size to keep samples in and I use one to home my hairbrush in my work bag.

First out of the box – Benefit They’re Real Mascara £19.50.

I love this mascara and have owned it previously so I was please to see in in the box.  I love the formula and the brush is great at picking up all the lashes, no clumps with separated lush lashes.  Handy size to take on holiday.

Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish £13.25

Another product I already own but again please to see it in the box.  I have used this cleanser for many years and have only recently moved away to another cleanser recently.  This was a reminder of why I love this product and I will be repurchasing.  Again this is a sample size product excellent for a weekend away.

Soigne Nail Lacquer £11.00

This is a full size product.  The blurb says “non toxic polish is classically great shades”, I say…..I love it, the colour an orangy red great for summer and the overage is brilliant.  A quick test with no base of top coat showed good wearage (is that a word?) lasting with a bright vibrant colour and no chips for 4 days.

Phillips Kingsley One More Day Dry Shampoo £13.50

I love this product, I have a batch of dry shampoos but I like this and again a handy size for going away with.  Give good texture and freshens up  day old hair.

Imedeem Derma One £37.99

At first glance I was eh, what on earth is this?  But I opened up the box and read the blurb and it is a pack of vitamin pills, enough for 2 weeks.  Aparently they are the key to skin clarity, elasticity and overall smoothness.  As they are pills and will take time to work I cannot comment on the actual product but I was impressed to find them in the box, its like thinking outside the box and I would not have tried them had they not have been in there.

Aromatherapy Associates Relax Light Bath and Shower Oil £39

A lovely scent that perfumes the house if you run the oil under the water when the bath is running.  It is a huge cost and although I like this I am not sure I could afford the full size.

 

Onto Glossybox

20140518-130705-47225806.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This box celebrates 50 years of Superdrug and all products are full size.

Solait Illuminating Facial Bronzing Cream £2.99

Lovely item, enough to give the face a glow for this time of year. Thumbs up.

L’Oreal Paris Volume Million Lashes £10.99

Love the packaging and the look of the product and on first try I was impressed.

Scholl Velvet Smooth Overnight Mask

Perfect for the sandal season.  This cream fixes dry and rough feet overnight making them fit for exposure the next day.  My feet are in good condition anyway but I found this cream assist in making them look even better.

Vaseline Spray & Go Coco £4.99.

I already own this product and it is a thumbs up from me.  I love how quickly this sinks into the skin and keeps the skin mosturised.

B. Sheer Conditioning Lipstick £6.99

I liked this product, the shade is a coral shade.  I don’t normally go of the coral shades when it comes to lip products, this is sheer enough not to be too much.

Garnier Oil Beauty Lotion £4.99

Ok this is classes as a bonus product.  I am hmm on this, a foil packet is not setting my world alight.  Not enough product to see if I like it, not enough to use over the whole body but as this is a ‘bonus product’ I will cut some slack here.  It is ok but I would like to try some more.

Ghost Fragrances Eclipse £33.00

Another ‘bonus product’ but to me it is just a sample of a perfume that makes me go meh.  Nice smell but its a sample! I will once again cut some slack and not moan too much.

My thoughts.

I loved Glossybox this month, impressed with the products chosen and the full sizes.  I liked the products from Birch Box, I was really impressed with the vitamin pills, who thought eh?

So it is a draw for May!

I would love to hear your thoughts on your box subscriptions this month, hit or miss for you?

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “Battle of the Beauty Boxes May 2014”

Leave a Reply

