Makeup Revolution – my thoughts

By now you would have read and heard about the new kid on the beauty block Makeup Revolution.  It has been featured in the press, on-line beauty blogs and YouTube and I thought it was about time for me to add my voice.

I decided to look at what they had on offer and to see if they had any comment on animal testing.  They state that they do not test on animals via their FAQ page.  As a result I thought I would jump right in and purchase a few items across the range after the Easter holiday weekend.  I decided on a bronzer, highlight, foundation and 4 eye-shadows with the total cost of these products of £15.00 (£2.95 was added for shipping).

IMG_1527

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They took a little time to arrive compared to MAC I ordered from Makeup Revolution on Easter Monday and the items arrived on the Saturday whereas I ordered from MAC the Wednesday after Easter and the items were here by the Friday.  I still thought shipping was quick and the items were well wrapped up upon arrival leaving the items nice and intact when opened.

When buying online I always find it difficult to see the actual shade, I would say that Makeup Revolution’s site had this sewn up with swatches of the product against skin to show the colour.

I opened the bronzer first, I had chosen the Vivid Baked Bronzer in Golden Days.  A mid shade with a small amount of shimmer, perfect for pale skin.  Cost £4.00 for 13g.

IMG_1529
Vivid Baked Bronzer – Golden Days

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next I opened up the highlight in Pink Lights from the Vivid baked highligher range.  This is a lilac pink shade, cool toned again with some shimmer but not sparkly.  This highlight has the most gorgeous design on the top that looked very high end, not bad for £3.00 for 7.5g.

Pink Lights
Vivid Baked Highlight – Pink Lights

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next were the 4 eyeshadows.  I had chosen Frozen, Touch me, Smokin1 and In The Deep all at £1.00 each for 3.3g of product.  Frozen is a light silvery grey and looks lovely in the inner corner of the eye blended out.  Touch me is a light beige shade, perfect as a base for light skin.  Smokin1 is probably my favorite shade, it is a darker grey like a steel grey.  Last up In The Deep a beautiful deep blue perfect to create a blue smoky eye.

IMG_1528
Top row – In The Deep/Touch Me Bottom row- Smokin1/Frozen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last out of the bag was the One Foundation in shade 2 £4.00 for 29ml.  I am on the fence about this, I think I have chosen a shade that is too light but it is buildable and soft looking.  It does not feel heavy or cloggy but I am not sure if it has the lasting power you might need with a foundation.

IMG_1531
Shade 2

In with my order were a few free gifts as part of the Easter promotion.  I received a nail varnish in Cool Days I would call the shade a duck egg blue.  Two pigment pots in Levity which looks like a pinks shimmer shade shot through with some blue and Cautious a golden brown shade both pots are 1.5g.  Last was the Kajal in black, an interesting eyeliner like a crayon.

IMG_1532
My free gift

 

 

 

 

 

 

I thought all the products were lovely to use.  I loved the eyshadows, pigmented and blendable they did not feel chalky or flaky against my eyelid.  I loved the bronzer, the colour lasted really well on me.  The highlighter needs a light hand on application but is a beautiful cool shade without the sparkle.  The foundation is very liquid and is perfect for the light coverage days but I am not convinced about the staying power.

Would I purchase more in the future?  Yes, for the money you cannot go wrong the products feel like high end on the skin and as this company become more established new shades and products will be introduced.

You can find Makeup Revolution online here or in most Superdrugs (however, at the time of typing they were not in my local Superdrug.)

 

Leave a Reply

